03 - 7947 6686 fomadmin@um.edu.my

Medicine Department

Home / Departments@FOM / Clinical / Medicine
 
About
...

The Department of Medicine is one of the largest departments within the Faculty of Medicine comprising all the sub-specialities within the field of Internal Medicine. It offers excellent opportunities for both undergraduate and postgraduate training as well as fellowship attachments. It is committed to research and development and subscribes to the vision and mission of the University.

Vision

The Vision of the Department is to become institution of excellence which provides leadership in the activities of education , training, research, new development, spread and the provision of service in the domain of general medicine and all the specialties associated with it.

Mission

Undergraduate

The Department views its mission at the undergraduate level as being charged with the responsibility, via the medical undergraduate instructional programme, of preparing the potential graduate to take up duties in the provision of medical care to the community throughout the nation and to be able to operate within the national health care service system effectively and efficiently.

 
History
...

The Faculty of Medicine, University of Malaya was established in the year 1963. The Department of Medicine is one of the academic departments of the faculty with its clinical teaching facility at the University Malaya Medical Centre. The University Malaya Medical Centre which was officially opened in 1968. Since its inception, the Department has been instrumental in the development and evolution of the medical undergraduate course (MBBS) bearing the philosophy that the integration of basic and applied sciences should begin early and continue throughout.

The Faculty of  Medicine, University of Malaya was established  in the year 1963. The Department of Medicine is one of the academic departments of the Faculty with its clinical teaching facility at the University Malaya Medical Centre.

The University Malaya Medical Centre which was officially opened in 1968 by His Majesty Duli Yang Maha Mulia Seri Paduka Baginda Yang Dipertuan Agong Tuanku Ismail Nasarudin Shah Ibni Alharmahum Sultan Zainal Abidin.

Since its inception, the Department has been instrumental  in the development and evolution of  the medical undergraduate course (MBBS) bearing the philosophy that the integration of basic and applied sciences should begin early and continue throughout.

The Department also conducts a four year Masters’ training program in Internal Medicine  (MMED ) in keeping with the increasing prominence of postgraduate activity directed at professional training.

 
Staff
...
Bil   Name UM Email UMMC Email Contact
PROFESSOR
1  Professor Dr. Sanjiv K. Mahadeva   sanjiv@um.edu.my   sanjiv@ummc.edu.my 03-7949 2555
2  Professor Dato' Dr. Adeeba Kamarulzaman  adeeba@um.edu.my   adeeba@ummc.edu.my 03-7949 2050
3  Professor Dato’ Dr. Ikram Shah Ismail  ikram@um.edu.my  ikram@ummc.edu.my 03-7949 2000
4  Professor Dato’ Dr. Goh Khean Lee  gohkl@um.edu.my   03-7967 7574
5  Professor Dr. Rosmawati Mohamed  rosmohamed@um.edu.my  ros@ummc.edu.my  
6  Professor Dr. Liam Chong Kin  liamck@um.edu.my  liamck@ummc.edu.my  03-7967 3027
7  Professor Dr. Philip Poi Jun Hua  philip_poi@um.edu.my  philip@ummc.edu.my  03-7967 3201
8  Professor Dr. Goh Khean Jin  gohkj@um.edu.my  gohkj@ummc.edu.my 03-7949 2585
9  Professor Dr. Gan Gin Gin  gangg@um.edu.my  gangg@ummc.edu.my 03-7949 2943
10  Professor Dr. Wan Azman Wan Ahmad  wanazman@um.edu.my  wanazman@ummc.edu.my 03-7967 2762
11  Professor Datuk Dr. Tan Chong Tin  cttan@um.edu.my  cttan@um.edu.my 03-7949 4613
12  Professor Dr. Lim Shen Yang      
ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
1  Associate Professor bee Ping Chong   pcbee@um.edu.my   ping.chong@ummc.edu.my 03-7949 4422
2  Associate Prof. Dr. Pang Yong Kek   ykpang@um.edu.my    03-7949 4422
3  Associate Prof. Dr. Sargunan Sockalingam    sargunan@um.edu.my   sargunan@ummc.edu.my 03-7949 3196
4  Associate Prof. Dr. Raja Iskandar Shah Raja Azwa    iskandar.azwa@um.edu.my   03-7949 2299
5  Assc. Prof Dr. Ng Chin Teck   chinteckng@um.edu.my   03-7949 4422
6  Associate Prof. Dr. Tan Maw Pin  maupin@um.edu.my    
7  Associate Prof. Dr. Sasheela A/P Sri La Sri Ponnampalavanar  maupin@um.edu.my    
8  Associate Professor. Dr. Shireene Ratna A/P D B Vethakkan   shireene@um.edu.my    
9   Associate Professor . Dr. Lim Soo Kun   sookunlim@um.edu.my    
Bil   Name UM Email UMMC Email Contact
SENIOR LECTURERS
1   Dr. Elsa Haniffah Mejia Mohamed   elsa@um.edu.my  elsa@ummc.edu.my 03- 7967 6634
2   Dr. Ajantha Sinniah   ajantha.sinniah@um.edu.my   03-7967 2932
3   Dr. Nur Lisa Zaharan  nurlisazaharan@um.edu.my  nurlisazaharan@ummc.edu.my 03-7967 6621
4   Dr.Tan Choo Hock   tanch@um.edu.my  tchook@ummc.edu.my  
5  Dr. Shamsul Mohd Zain    shamsul@um.edu.my   03-7967 2066
6  Dr. Zaridatul Aini Binti Ibrahim   zaridatulaini@um.edu.my  zaridatulaini@ummc.edu.my 03-7967 5727
LECTURER
1        
TRAINEE LECTURER
1        

 

Bil   Name UM Email UMMC Email Contact
SCIENCE OFFICER
1   Zalina Binti Razali   zalinarazali@um.edu.my   03- 7967 5723
MEDICAL LABORATORY TECHNOLOGIST
1   Noor Shafila Binti Shafie  shafilashafie@um.edu.my   shafila@ummc.edu.my 03- 7967 4706
2   Raziyah Binti Abdul Malik  raziyah@um.edu.my   03- 7967 4706
3   Zulaikha Dahlia Binti Zainin  zulaikha_dahlia@um.edu.my   03- 7967 4706
ASSISTANT SCIENCE OFFICER
1   Haslyna Binti Omar  haslyna@um.edu.my   haslyna@ummc.edu.my 03- 7967 4706
2   Abdul Halim Bin Mohamad  abdulhalim@um.edu.my   ahalim@ummc.edu.my 03- 7967 4711
ADMINISTRATOR ASSISTANT
1   Norsyazwana Binti Hasim  syazwana@um.edu.my   03- 7967 4703
OPERATIONAL ASSISTANT
1   Mohd Ridzuan Bin Sudin  jang@um.edu.my   03- 7967 6661
2   Umi Kalthum Binti Haron  umikalthum@um.edu.my   03- 7967 4711
3   Nasihah Sakinan Binti Ali  nasiha89@um.edu.my   03- 7967 4711

 

 
 
Academic Programme
...

Under Development

 
Services
...

Under Development

 
Research
...

Under Development.

Last Updated: 05/12/2018