03 - 7947 6686 fomadmin@um.edu.my

Medicine Department

Home / Departments@FOM / Clinical / Medicine
 
About
...

The Department of Medicine is the largest department in the Faculty of Medicine comprising all the sub-specialities within the field of Internal Medicine i.e. Cardiology, Dermatology, Endocrinology, Gastroenterology, General Medicine, Geriatric, Haematology, Infectious Disease, Nephrology, Neurology, Palliative Care, Respiratory Medicine and Rheumatology. It offers excellent opportunities for both undergraduate and postgraduate trainings as well as fellowship attachments. It is committed to research and development and subscribes to the vision and mission of the University.

Vision

The Vision of the Department is to become an institution of excellence which provides leadership in the activities of education, training, research, new development, spread and the provision of service in the domain of general medicine and all the specialties associated with it.

Mission

Undergraduate
The Department views its mission at the undergraduate level as being charged with the responsibility, via the medical undergraduate instructional programme, of preparing the potential graduate to take up duties in the provision of medical care to the community throughout the nation and to be able to operate within the national health care service system effectively and efficiently.

Postgraduate
The Department views its mission at the postgraduate level, via its postgraduate medical training programme (Masters in Internal Medicine), to produce a physician who may be considered as a professional and a specialist in the domain of General Medicine as well as in a particular chosen specialty within it.

 
History
...

The Faculty of Medicine, University of Malaya was established in the year 1963. The Department of Medicine is one of the academic departments of the faculty with its clinical teaching facility at the University Malaya Medical Centre. The University Malaya Medical Centre was officially opened in 1968 by His Majesty Duli Yang Maha Mulia Seri Paduka Baginda Yang Dipertuan Agong Tuanku Ismail Nasarudin Shah Ibni Alharmahum Sultan Zainal Abidin. Since its inception, the Department has been instrumental in the development and evolution of the medical undergraduate course (MBBS) bearing the philosophy that the integration of basic and applied sciences should begin early and continue throughout. The Department also conducts a four year Masters training programme in Internal Medicine (MMED) in keeping with the increasing prominence of postgraduate activity directed at professional training.

 
Staff
...

Professor Dr. Shahrul Bahyah Kamaruzzaman

Head of Department

Bil Salutation Name Email Phone
1 Professor. Dr. Shahrul Bahyah Kamaruzzaman shahrulk@um.edu.my | shahrulbahyah@ummc.edu.my -
2 Professor Dr. Goh Khean Jin gohkj@um.edu.my | gohkj@ummc.edu.my -
3 Professor Dr. Liam Chong Kin liamck@u@um.edu.my | liamck@ummc.edu.my -
4 Ybhg. Prof. Dato' Prof. Dr. Ikram Shah Ismail ikram@um.edu.my | ikram@ummc.edu.my -
5 Ybhg. Prof. Dato' Dr. Adeeba binti Kamarulzaman adeeba@um.edu.my | adeeba@ummc.edu.my -
6 Prof. Dato' Dr. Wan Azman bin Wan Ahmad wanazman@um.edu.my | wanazman@ummc.edu.my -
7 Prof. Dr. Rosmawati Mohamed rosmohamed@um.edu.my | ros@ummc.edu.my -
8 Prof. Dr. Tan Kay Sin tanks_neuro@um.edu.my | tanks@ummc.edu.my -
9 Prof. Dr. Gan Gin Gin @ Gan Shiaw Sze gangg@um.edu.my | gangg@ummc.edu.my -
10 Prof. Dr. Lim Shen-Yang limshenyang@um.edu.my | sylim@ummc.edu.my -
11 Prof. Dr. Ida Normiha Hilmi i_hilmi@um.edu.my | ida@ummc.edu.my -
12 Prof. Dr. Imran Zainal Abidin imran@um.edu.my | imran@ummc.edu.my -
13 Prof. Dr. Nortina Shahrizaila nortina@um.edu.my | nortina@ummc.edu.my -
14 Prof. Dr. Chin Al-Vyrn avchin@um.edu.my | avchin@ummc.edu.my -
15 Prof. Dr. Sanjiv Mahadeva sanjiv@um.edu.my | sanjiv@ummc.edu.my -
16 Prof. Dr. Lim Kheng Seang kslimum@um.edu.my | kslim@ummc.edu.my -
17 Prof. Dr. Chee Kok Han cheekh@um.edu.my | cheekh@ummc.edu.my -
18 Prof. Dr. Bee Ping pcbee@um.edu.my | ping.chong@ummc.edu.my -
19 Prof. Dr. Tan Maw Pin mawpin@um.edu.my | mptan@ummc.edu.my -
20 Associate Prof. Dr. Pang Yong Kek ykpang@um.edu.my | ykpang@ummc.edu.my -
21 Associate Prof. Dr. Sargunan Sockalingam sargunan@um.edu.my | sargunan@ummc.edu.my -
22 Associate Prof. Dr. Raja Iskandar Shah Raja Azwa iskandar.azwa@um.edu.my | iskandarshah@ummc.edu.my -
23 Associate Prof. Dr. Shireene Ratna A/P Daniel Benjamin shireene@um.edu.my | ratna@ummc.edu.my -
24 Associate Prof. Dr. Lim Soo Kun sookunlim@um.edu.my | limsk@ummc.edu.my -
25 Associate Prof. Dr. Sasheela A/P Sri La Sri Pnnampalavanar sasheela@um.edu.my | sheela@ummc.edu.my -
26 Associate Prof. Dr. Chan Wah Kheong wkchan@um.edu.my | wah.kheong@ummc.edu.my -
27 Associate Prof. Dr. Alexander Loch aloch@um.edu.my | alexander.loch@ummc.edu.my -
28 Associate Prof. Dr. Tan Seng Beng sbtan@um.edu.my | sbtan@ummc.edu.my -
29 Associate Prof. Dr. Sharon Tai-Mei Ling sharontai@um.edu.my | sharon@ummc.edu.my -
30 Associate Prof. Dr. Ng Kok Peng kokpeng@um.edu.my | kokpeng@ummc.edu.my -
31 Associate Prof. Dr. Alexander Tan Tong Boon alexander@um.edu.my | alexttb@ummc.edu.my -
32 Associate Prof. Dr. Alex Leow Hwong Ruey alexleow@um.edu.my | hrleow@ummc.edu.my -
33 Associate Prof. Dr. Suhaila Abdullah suhailah73@um.edu.my | suhaisaa@ummc.edu.my -
34 Associate Prof. Dr. Raja Jasmin Begum Bt. Raja Mohamed jazzmeen@um.edu.my | rjasmin@ummc.edu.my -
35 Associate Prof. Dr. Sharifah Faridah Syed Omar shfaridah@um.edu.my | SFARIDAH@ummc.edu.my -
36 Associate Prof. Dr. Ahmad Syadi bin Mahmood Zuhdi syadizuhdi@um.edu.my | ahmadsyadi@ummc.edu.my -
37 Associate Prof. Dr. Ho Shiaw Hooi shho@um.edu.my | shiaw.hooi@ummc.edu.my -
38 Associate Prof. Dr. Loh Ee Chin loheechin@um.edu.my | ecloh@ummc.edu.my -
39 Associate Prof. Dr. Tan Ai Huey aihuey.tan@um.edu.my | tan.aihuey@ummc.edu.my -
Bil Salutation Name Email Phone
1 Dr. Wong Chew Ming wongcm@um.edu.my | cmwong@ummc.edu.my -
2 Dr. Edmund Chin Fui Min edmundchin@um.edu.my | edmund@ummc.edu.my -
3 Dr. Nor Ashikin Md Sari ashikin77@um.edu.my | shikin@ummc.edu.my -
4 Dr. Wan Ahmad Hafiz B Wan Md Adnan wahafiz@um.edu.my | ahmad.hafiz@ummc.edu.my -
5 Dr. Adeeba binti Kamarulzaman adeeba@um.edu.my | adeeba@ummc.edu.my -
6 Dr. Muhammad Dzafir Bin Ismail dzafir@um.edu.my | dzafir@ummc.edu.my -
7 Dr. Lam Chee Loong cheeloong@um.edu.my | cllam@ummc.edu.my -
8 Dr. Sheriza Izwa Bt. Zainuddin sheriza@um.edu.my | sheriza@ummc.edu.my -
9 Dr. R. Jeyakantha A/L Ratnasingam jeyakantha@um.edu.my | r.jeyakantha@ummc.edu.my -
10 Dr. Fariz Bin Yahya farizyahya@um.edu.my | farizy@ummc.edu.my -
11 Dr. Maisarah Jalalonmuhali mai_jalal@um.edu.my | maisarahj@ummc.edu.my -
12 Dr. Luqman Bin Ibrahim luqman@um.edu.my | luqman.ibrahim@ummc.edu.my -
13 Dr. Helmi Bin Sulaiman helmi_s@um.edu.my | helmisu@ummc.edu.my -
14 Dr. Tan Kit Mun tankitmun@um.edu.my | kmtan@ummc.edu.my -
15 Dr. Nor I’zzati Binti Saedon izzati@um.edu.my | izzati@ummc.edu.my -
16 Dr. Poh Mau Ern ernestpoh@um.edu.my | pme@ummc.edu.my -
17 Dr. Lim Lee Ling limleeling@um.edu.my | leeling.lim@ummc.edu.my -
18 Dr. Nur Adila Bt Anuar nuradila@um.edu.my | nuradilaan@ummc.edu.my -
19 Dr. Khor Hui Min hmkhor@um.edu.my | hmkhor@ummc.edu.my -
20 Dr. Sharmila Sunita Paramasivam sharmsp13@um.edu.my | sunita@ummc.edu.my -
21 Dr. Wong Pui Li pl.wong@um.edu.my | wongpl@ummc.edu.my -
22 Dr. Muhammad Imran B Abdul Hafidz imran.hafidz@um.edu.my | imranhafidz@ummc.edu.my -
23 Dr. Shasha Khairullah shasha_k@um.edu.my | ratna@ummc.edu.my -
24 Dr. Lim Soo Jin limsoojin@um.edu.my | soojin@ummc.edu.my -
25 Dr. Kwan Zhenli zhenli@um.edu.my | zhenli@ummc.edu.my -
26 Dr. Tan Leng Leng tllktc@um.edu.my | tangll@ummc.edu.my -
27 Dr. Tan Guo Jeng tanguojeng1982@um.edu.my | guojeng@ummc.edu.my -
28 Dr. Mohd Firdaus B Hadi dr_fir@um.edu.my | firdaus.hadi@ummc.edu.my -
29 Dr. Chooi Kheng Chiew kc_chooi@um.edu.my | chooikc@ummc.edu.my -
30 Dr. Tan Cheng Yin drtancy@um.edu.my | cytan@ummc.edu.my -
31 Dr. Ng Kee Seong ngks@um.edu.my | ngks@ummc.edu.my -
32 Dr. Lydia Pok Say Lee lydiapok@um.edu.my | slpok@ummc.edu.my -
33 Dr. Mohamad Imran B Idris imranidris@um.edu.my | imran.idris@ummc.edu.my -
34 Dr. Low Soon Chai sclow@um.edu.my | lowsc@ummc.edu.my -
35 Dr. Wong Chee Kuan ckwong@um.edu.my | ckwong@ummc.edu.my -
36 Dr. Yong Shin Shen shinshen@um.edu.my | shinshen@ummc.edu.my -
37 Dr. Chuah Kee Huat khchuah@um.edu.my | chuah.kh@ummc.edu.my -
38 Dr. Gan Chye Chung ccgan@um.edu.my | ccgan@ummc.edu.my -
39 Dr. Fong Si Lei fongsilei@um.edu.my | sileif@ummc.edu.my -
40 Dr. Lee Yee Wan ywlee@um.edu.my | ywlee@ummc.edu.my -
41 Dr. Tee Ying Chew yctee@um.edu.my | teeyc@ummc.edu.my -
42 Dr. Bushra Megat Johari bushra@um.edu.my | bushramj@ummc.edu.my -
43 Dr. Ong Hang Cheng onghangcheng@um.edu.my | ong.hc@ummc.edu.my -
44 Dr. Han Winn Hui winnhh@um.edu.my | winnhui@ummc.edu.my -
41 Dr. Loh Thian Chee tcloh@um.edu.my | thianchee@ummc.edu.my -
Bil Salutation Name Email Phone
1 Dr. Ramesh Singh A/L Arjan Singh ramesh@ummc.edu.my -
2 Dr. Henning Loo Cheng Kien henning@ummc.edu.my -
3 Dr. Tan Jiunn Liang tanjiunnl@ummc.edu.my -
4 Dr. Ruveena Bhavani Rajaram ruveena@ummc.edu.my -
5 Dr. Lee Zhen-Vin zhenvin@ummc.edu.my -
6 Dr. Ong Chun Seong ongcs@ummc.edu.my -
7 Dr. Abdul Malik Mohamed Thalha malikmt@ummc.edu.my -
8 Dr. David Paul Capelle david.paul@ummc.edu.my -
9 Dr. Khoo Stanley stanley@ummc.edu.my -
10 Dr. Albert Hing (Wong) albert@ummc.edu.my -
11 Dr. Toh Tsun Haw tsun.haw@ummc.edu.my -
12 Dr. Kejal Hasmukharay kejal@ummc.edu.my -
13 Dr. Ng Rong Xiang ngrx@ummc.edu.my -
Bil Salutation Name Email Phone
1 Mdm. Wan Nur Farlisa Wan Rafai wannurfarlisa@um.edu.my | wannurfarlisa@ummc.edu.my 03-79472817
Bil Salutation Name Email Phone
1 Mr. Shareh Zulfadli Bin Shareh Nordin shareh@um.edu.my 03-79492421
Bil Salutation Name Email Phone
1 Mdm. Rohana Abd Jalil rohana_med@um.edu.my | rohanaaj@ummc.edu.my 03-79492429
Bil Salutation Name Email Phone
1 Mdm. Noor Aida Mohd aida_med@um.edu.my | aida_med@ummc.edu.my 03-79492868
2 Mdm. Mazziati Omar mazziati_omar@um.edu.my 03-79472287
3 Mdm. Zuraida Ibrahim zuraidaibrahim@ummc.edu.my 03-79492299
4 Mdm. Natrah Jamal natrah@ummc.edu.my 03-79492867
Bil Salutation Name Email Phone
1 Mr. Izzaimie Ismail izzaimie@um.edu.my 03-79492421
Bil Salutation Name Email Phone
1 Mr. Mohd Rizal Mohamed Halim rzal@um.edu.my 03-79492421
 
Academic Programme
...
The Department offers the following academic programmes:

This is a five-year professional medical degree programme which also known as University of Malaya Medical Programme (UMMP). It offers clinical experience, research opportunities, and elective placements and provides students with current best practice in medical education, high teacher-student ratios as well as extensive educational support. On successful completion of the programme, the students will be conferred the Bachelor in Medicine and Bachelor in Surgery (MBBS) degree. The MBBS graduates will be a medical practitioner who is responsive to the health needs of individuals, families and the society at large. The graduates will as be committed to improve health care system at all level.

This is a four-year training programme that is aimed at progressive mastery of skills, attitude and knowledge of a physician in Internal Medicine. Doctors of Internal Medicine are medical specialists who have had special study and training focused on the detection, prevention, clinical assessment and treatment of adult diseases. Candidates for this programme will be exposed to all those aspects from almost all specialties, learn appropriate communication skills and multidisciplinary team-based learning which incorporate holistic management of patients. They will also be trained to provide cross specialty consultations on the medical management of patients from other specialties. The candidates will be required to choose to sub-specialize in any one of the Internal Medicine specialties during their final year.

 
Research
...

No.

Principal Investigator

Research Title

1.

Prof. Dr. Wan Azman Wan Ahmad

IBS Sirolimus-eluting Iron Bioresorbable Coronary Scaffold System. Prospective, Non-randomized, Multi-center, Open-label, Non-comparative, First-in-Man Study

2.

A Phase 3, Multicenter, Double-blind, Randomized, Placebo-controlled, Parallel-group Study to Investigate the Efficacy and Safety of CSL112 in Subjects with Acute Coronary Syndrome. the AEGIS-II Study

3.

FOURIER LEGACY To determine the longer-term safety of prior exposure to evolocumab (non-CVD death) plus any carry-over benefits of prior evolocumab treatment on CVD death and non-fatal major CVD events

4.

Prospective Observational Study of Lipid Management in Non-US, Non-Western European Patients Who Have A Recent Acute Coronary Syndrome Event (ACOSYNM)

5.

Prof. Dr. Rosmawati Mohamed

Inhibitory Receptors Pathway Blockade As A Potential Cancer Therapy

6.

Genetic Susceptibility To Liver Disease Progression In Hbv Infected Individuals

7.

Prof. Dr. Lim Shen-Yang

Gut Infections And Parkinson's Disease

8.

Prof. Dr. Imran Zainal Abidin

Expanding MRI Access for Patients with New and Existing ICDs and CRT-Ds (ENABLE MRI)

9.

World-wide Randomized Antibiotic EnveloPe Infection PrevenTion Trial (WRAP-IT) study

10.

Expanding MRI Access for Patients with New and Existing ICDs and CRT-Ds (ENABLE MRI)

11.

Prof. Dr. Chin Ai-Vyrn

PREDICTORS OF PROGRESSION FROM MILD COGNITIVE IMPAIRMENT TO DEMENTIA

AB09004 Masitinib study

12.

Associate Prof. Dr. Lim Soo Kun

Global Multicentre Kidney Transplant Advagraf Conversion Registry. A non-interventional post-authorisation study (PAS),

13.

Associate Prof. Dr. Chan Wah Keong

Validation of 2-step approach in non-invasive assessment of NAFLD

14.

Associate Prof. Dr. Raja Jasmin Begum Raja Mohamed

SENSCIS - A double blind, randomised, placebo-controlled trial evaluating efficacy and safety of oral nintedanib treatment for at least 52 weeks in patients with Systemic Sclerosis associated Interstitial Lung Disease (SSc-ILD)

15.

Associate Prof. Dr. Ahmad Syadi Mahmood Zuhdi

Post Market Surveillance of SeQuent Please Neo with Scoring Balloon Lesion Preparation in Real World Patients (PASSWORD Regisry)

 
Services
...

The department provides outpatient care in the in Medical I and Medical II Clinics which is inclusive of general and subspecialty clinics as follows:

MEDICAL CLINIC I
  • Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD)
  • Glomerulonephritis(GN)/Transplant
  • Patch Test & Phototherapy 
  • Dermatology 
  • Rheumatic Heart Disease (RHD)
  • Fall & Syncope
  • Low Clearance
  • Internationalised Ratio (INR) 
  • Palliative
  • Chronic Ischemic Heart Disease (CIHD)
  • Rheumatology
  • Geriatric
MEDICAL CLINIC II
  • Endocrinology
  • Adult Bone Marrow Transplant (ABMT)
  • Neurology
  • Systemic Lupus Erythematosus (SLE)
  • Diabetis/Insulin
  • Intense Pulse Light (IPL)/Laser Treatment 
  • Haematology
  • Hypertension
MEDICAL CLINIC III
  • Chest
  • Lung cancer & Bronchiectasis
  • Tuberculosis & Sleep Apnoea
  • Asthma & Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease
  • Gastroenterology
  • Inflammatory Bowel Disease
  • Infectious Disease
  • Memory Clinic
     

The inpatient general and subspecialty wards are as follows:

  • Infectious Diseases
  • Cardiology, Coronary Care Unit
  • Neuroscience
  • Haematology
  • Endocrine
  • Nephrology
  • Rheumatology
  • Dialysis Unit
  • General Medical
  • Dermatology
  • Respiratory
  • Gastroenterology
  • Geriatric
  • Stroke and Rehabilitation

Medical Subspecialties

  • Cardiology

    Provides comprehensive critical care to cardiac patients including acutely ill who require intensive treatment and close continuous monitoring.

  • Gastroenterology

    Provides facilities for the diagnostic and therapeutic endoscopy which involving the use of local anaesthesia and sedation. The diagnostic and therapeutic procedures carried out are the ERCP, Colonoscopy, OGDS, Endoscopic Ultrasound and Bronchoscopy.

  • Nephrology

    Provide services to patients with End Stage Renal Disease (ESRD), Acute Renal Failure and other conditions that require dialysis support. Management of patient is according to the policy on Care of Patient with Dialysis.

  • Neurology

    Provides services for neurological diagnostic and therapeutic that is efficient and effective for both outpatients and inpatients with neurological disorders.

  • Other Specialities
    1. Infectious Disease
    2. Haematology
    3. Rheumatology
    4. Respiratory
    5. Endocrine
    6. Geriatric
    7. Dermatology
Last Updated: 14/08/2019