The department of Ophthalmology was established in 1964. The department is situated on the 2nd floor of the CRL building and housed the Head of Department’s room, main office, department’s library, seminar room , lecturer’s rooms and a Wet lab.

Since its conception, the department had been actively teaching the undergraduate students of Faculty of Medicine, University of Malaya. In 1992, it started its Master of Ophthalmology programme and since then had trained many ophthalmologists to serve the country. In addition, the department is also involved in the teaching of nurses, primary care physicians and sport medicine specialists.

Currently there are 13 lecturers/ophthalmologist and 2 Trainee lecturers in the department.