Staff Awards


1Conferred the Darjah Indera Mahkota Pahang which carries the title Dato by DYMM SultanProfessor Dr. Yang Faridah Abdul AzizBio-Medical Imaging
2Conferment of a DPhil from Oxford UniversityDr NorFaizal Ahmad BahuriNeurosurgery Unit, Department of Surgery


1Conferment Datuk Paduka Mahkota Perak (D.P.M.P)
Conferment Datuk Paduka Mahkota Perak (DPMP) which carries the title Dato ’in conjunction with the birthday of the Sultan of Perak, HRH Sultan Nazrin Muizzuddin Shah Ibni Sultan Azlan Shah Al-Mughfur-Lah times to 59 on 5 November 2016 in the Palace of Alexandria Kuala Kangsar to Profesor Dr. Adeeba Kamarulzaman and Profesor Dr. Prepageran Narayananto Profesor Dr. Adeeba KamarulzamanDean, Faculty of Medicine
Profesor Dr. Prepageran NarayananOrtorhinolaringology


1Receive the gold medal
Firstly a welcome back to Dr Sivakumar Krishnasamy form the Cardiothoracics Unit, Department of Surgery who recently returned with not one but two fellowships the FRCS CTh and the FETCS which is the European board for cardiothoracics exam for which he was the first Asian and Malaysian to receive the gold medal !! Heartiest congratulations Dr Sivakumar.Dr Sivakumar KrishnasamyCardiothoracics Unit, Surgery
2Award : Merdeka Award Datuk Dr. Looi Lai MengPhatology
3Award : Prestigious 2016 L’oreal-UNESCO For Women in Science National Fellowship Award
Armed With A Total Of RM90k, These Are 3 M’sian Women In Science To Look Out ForDr Reena RajasuriarPharmacy
4Award : The Most Inspiring Woman by the Malaysian Woman’s Weekly Magazine.
A star student who obtained the world’s highest score for her professional exams and went on to win a RM1 million grant to pursue her PhD in Cambridge, Professor Woo Yin Ling could have had her pick of any specialisation.Prof Woo Yin LingObstetric and Gynaecology
However, during her housemanship, a senior doctor’s compassionate touch in treating cancer patients left an impression on her. The encounter led her into the field of gynaecological oncology, a subspecialisation that involves treating women with cancers originating from reproductive tracts.
After 20 years abroad, of which she spent four years researching the human papillomavirus (HPV) immunology, Dr Woo returned to Malaysia fully qualified as a clinician-scientist. In other words, she is equally competent as a clinical doctor and a scientist – a rare breed, even in the West
5Award : prestigious Parija Oration Award for outstanding contribution to the field of Parasitology and Tropical medicine from the Indian Academy of Parasitology and Tropical Medicine.Professor Dr. Suresh Kumar A/L P GovindParasitology


1Award : The Prestigious Merdeka Award in the category of Health, Science and Technology.
Please join me in congratulating Prof Looi for receiving the prestigious Merdeka Award in the category of Health, Science and Technology. Prof Looi is the fourth recipient of this Award from the Faculty of Medicine that have included The Nipah Investigative team. Prof Datuk Lam Sai Kit and Prof Dato KL Goh. They have all made us proud. A well deserved award, congratulations Prof Looi.Professor Datuk Dr. Looi Lai MengPhatology


1Award : Top Malaysian Research Scientists by the Academy of Science Malaysia.
The Top Research Scientist of Malaysia (TRSM) is an ASM initiative which aims to foster a culture of excellence in science, technology and innovation (STI). The initiative aims to recognize leading research scientists in Malaysia, to acknowledge their contributions and showcase the accomplishments of Malaysian research scientists as role models of excellence, mentors to the next generation and leaders of the STI agenda of the nation.Professor Dr. Yvonne Lim, Deputy Dean ResearchDean Office


1Science & Technology Research Grants during the award presentation ceremony at the Intercontinental Hotel , Kuala LumpurDr Tan Ai HueyMedicine
2Conferred the Panglima Setia Mahkota which carries the title Tan Sri in conjunction with His Majesty Seri Paduka Baginda Agong’s birthday celebration.Tan Sri Professor Dr. Mohd Amin JalaluddinVice Chansellor Office, Department of Ortorhinolaringology, Medicine


1Fellows of The Academy of Science - have been conferred as Fellows of the Academy of Science, a prestigious recognition of their contributions to science and medicine
Professor Dr Lee Way Seah FAScProfessor Dr Lee Way SeahPaediatrics
Professor Dr Mary Anne Tan Jin Ai FAScProfessor Dr Mary Anne Tan Jin AiBiomedical Science
Professor Dr Wan Ariffin Abdullah FAScProfessor Dr Wan Ariffin AbdullahMedicine
2Dato Dr Mahmood Merican Medical Research Grant (MMRG)Associate Professor Dr. Zamri ChikPharmacology


1Title of Award : Best Poster Award The 2015 Golden Helix Symposium “Next Generation Pharmacogenomics”
Award Level :- 1st Prize
Poster title:- An Indian Polyvalent Antivenom Protects Against the Naja kaouthia (Monocellate cobra) Venom-Induced Neuromuscular Blockade and Reverses the Cardio-Depressant Effect in Isolated Tissue PreparationsProf. Sim Si MuiPharmacology
Authors:- P. T. Tan a, S. M. Sim a, N. H. Tan b
Award Level:- 2nd Prize
Poster title:- The Role pf NPY rs16147 and rs5574 Polymorphisms On Obesity Parameters and Cardiometabolic Risk Factors in Urban Malaysian Adolecents.Dr. Sim Maw ShinPharmacology
Authors:- Nur Lisa Zaharan, Shamsul Mohd Zain, Anahita Hamidi and Zahurin Mohamed
Award Level:- 3rd Prize
Poster title:- MicroRNA Expression Profiling of Methamphetamine Dependence in Rat Nucleus Accumbens TissueDr. Nur Lisa ZaharanPharmacology
Authors:- M. S. Sim a, I. S. Parhar b, T. Soga b, P. Vijayapandi a, Z. Mohamed a


1Title of Award : The Novartis Next Generation Scientist (NGS) Program
The Novartis Next Generation Scientist (NGS) Program is an intensive internship program for talented and motivated research scientists from emerging countries. This program is designed to foster both their scientific and professional development. Guided by Novartis mentors, the interns work on a jointly-agreed upon, pre-competitive scientific or clinical project and also participate in a leadership development program designed to enhance their decision-making and communication skills.Ms Kavita S. Subramanian (supervisor Professor Ivy Chung)Pharmacology
Novartis HQ had received 524 applications including 6 potential candidates from Malaysia. After reviewing the on-line applications, telephonic interviews and interactions with some of the home mentors, the NGS committee had shortlisted the candidate pool to 34 candidates from which they have selected 20. Thus, Kavita should be very proud to be the first Malaysian to be selected in this program.


1Award : Inaugural PhAMA Ministry of Health Innovation and Research Award 2014Professor Ng Chirk JennPrimary Care Medicine
Heartiest congratulations to the Decision Making in Insulin Therapy (DMIT) Team for winning the inaugural PhAMA Ministry of Health Innovation and Research Award 2014 ( Lee Yew Kong (Team researchers)Primary Care Medicine
The team is led by Professor Ng Chirk Jenn from the Department of Primary Care Medicine, and his team members include researchers from FOM (Dr. Lee Yew Kong, Associate Professor Khatijah Abdullah Lim, Professor Khoo Ee Ming and Professor Low Wah Yun), UPM and the Ministry of Health.Associate Professor Khatijah Abdullah Lim (Team researchers)Nursing Science
The PhAMA Award is a national award that recognizes high quality innovative research that contributes significantly to health care in Malaysia.Professor Khoo Ee Ming (Team researchers)Primary Care Medicine
The DMIT team has developed a practical and innovative solution to support people with type 2 diabetes in making informed healthcare decisions. This project was funded by the UMRG and you can find out more about their research work at: Low Wah Yun (Team researchers)Dean Office