A four year Bachelor of Pharmacy [B. Pharm. (Hons)] course under semester system is offered to Malaysian undergraduates. The undergraduate programme consists of 44 core pharmacy modules under five disciplines, Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Scientific Basis of Therapeutics, Pharmaceutical Technology, Clinical Pharmacy and Pharmacy Practice.

Postgraduate programmes by research leading to MSc and PhD degrees are offered to both qualified Malaysian and overseas students. The research programmes encompass various areas of pharmaceutical sciences, including medicinal chemistry, natural products chemistry, drug action, drug delivery, pharmacoenconomics, pharmacoepidemiology and evidence based pharmacotherapy related to clinical and pharmacy practice.

To support these activities, the department is equipped with state-of-the-art research tools for biological chemistry, analytical chemistry and formulation research such as a pharmaceutical pilot plant facility for scale up experimental production of tablets and capsules, and microplate scintillation and luminescence counter, cell harvester and robotic liquid handling system for medium and high throughput biomolecular assays. These facilities are supplemented through collaborative work with researchers in other departments and faculties at the University of Malaya (UM), the Forest Research Institute Malaysia (FRIM), the Forest Research Center (FRC), Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM), Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM), and the pharmaceutical industry.

The research projects conducted at the Department are largely funded by grants from University of Malaya, the Intensification of Research in Priority Areas (IRPA) and pharmaceutical companies. To date the Department has successfully secured grants of more than RM 2 million from IRPA and other sources for its projects.

Head of Department


Prof Datin Dr. Zoriah Aziz
Department of Pharmacy
Faculty of Medicine
+603-7967 4909 (Office)