The Biomedical Science has been acknowledged as an important branch of Science and Technology, especially in providing support service in conjunction with various other medical services in health and patient care. Research in the area of Biomedical Science has also emerged as a growing, very important field of science. Thus, the realisation of the importance to fulfil this need drove the Faculty of Medicine to propose the Biomedical Science Degree Programme.

A Board of Studies was formed by the Senate to study the proposal for the implementation of this programme in the University of Malaya. After several meetings with the University Malaya Council and Board of Studies, the senate agreed to the proposal and was eventually approved by the Ministry of Education on 15 October 1992. The Department of Allied Health Sciences which comprised units of Biomedical Science, Nursing and Rehabilitation Medicine was formed in early 1993. The first enrolment (13 students) into the Biomedical Science programme was in 1993 and the first batch graduated in 1996. The student intake has increased over the years (not exceeding 40 per year) and there are a total of 100 undergraduates pursuing this programme at various levels. More than 500 students have graduated since the commencement of this programme.In 1997, the University of Malaya Biomedical Science degree programme was accredited by the Institute of Biomedical Sciences (IBMS), UK.

In 2003, the Biomedical Science Unit was merged with the Department of Biochemistry and the merged department was known as Department of Molecular Medicine. The Biomedical Science Programme was run under this department until 2012. The formation of Department of Biomedical Science was approved on 12 June 2012 and on 2nd January 2013, the Department of Biomedical Science was commenced.