The Department of Biomedical Science (formerly known as the Biomedical Science Unit under the Department of Molecular Medicine) offers a full time Bachelor of Biomedical Science undergraduate programme and conducts Biomedical research in various disciplines, including Population Genetics, Rare Diseases, Neuroscience, Haematology, Microbiology, Developmental Biology, Cancer Therapeutics, and Natural Products.

The department consists of fourteen academic staff, with four Professors, seven senior lecturers, one lecturer, one Fellow, and one Postdoc, who are supported by trained Medical Laboratory Technologists. Facilities within the department are designed for teaching and research, with fully equipped lecture theatres, seminar rooms and teaching labs, and research labs for Biochemistry, Haematology, Immunology, Clinical Chemistry, Tissue Culture and Molecular Biology. The department is also home to the Zebrafish Lab, which is one of the satellite facilities for the Faculty’s AAALAC-accredited Animal Experimental Unit.

At present there are nearly 200 undergraduate and postgraduate students, both local and international, making up the student population of the department.


The vision of the Biomedical Science Department is to become an excellent and exemplary Teaching, Research and Service Centre for Biomedical Science in Malaysia and in Asia.


To produce competent graduates with a sound foundation in the basic medical sciences, in depth knowledge of the major Biomedical Science disciplines with good scientific research skills.

To produce postgraduates who are competent, able and independent scientists.

To develop techniques and tools for clinical diagnostics.

To share the knowledge and skills with others in the country and region and this is envisaged to be achieved through workshops, conferences and staff and student exchange programmes.

Head of Department

Professor Dr. Umah Rani Kuppusamy
Department of Biomedical science
Faculty of Medicine
+603-7967 4900 (Office)