The department was set up in 1965, two years after the Medical Faculty of University of Malaya was formed. Dr J.F. Silva was appointed as the first Professor and Head of Department of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Rehabilitation in January 1966. At that time there were only four orthopaedic specialists in Malaysia. Prior to establishing the department, Orthopaedic was part of the Department of Surgery.

The department subsequently became one of the primary teaching units. The first batch of 63 student went to Hospital Besar Kuala Lumpur and Hospital Kelang for bedside teaching, as our own hospital was not yet ready. Since then, the Department, along with the Hospital and faculty, have progressed rapidly.

The department has developed into subdivisions comprising, Upper Limb and Reconstructive Microsurgery, Paediatric Orthopaedics, Orthopaedic Oncology, Adult Reconstructive Surgery (joint replacement), Spine Surgery, Trauma and Orthopaedic Sport Surgery. Each unit has its own activities, but all units cooperate and act together as a department.

In 1993, the Master in Orthopaedic Surgery was started, to address the shortage of specialists in the country. The first batch of graduates consisting of Dr Jamal Azmi Mohamed and Dr Marwan Mustafa (Palestine) graduated in 1993. Since then, up to 2007, the department has produced more than 107 masters graduates of international standard. Further to that, the department is also producing post graduate research students actively (PhD & Masters by research).

Previous Academic Staff of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery,
University of Malaya

Prof. Joseph Francis Silva
Prof. S. Sengupta
Prof. P. Balasubramaniam
Prof. N. Subramaniam
Prof. Dato’ Charles V. David
Prof. Madya K. Thambyrajah
Prof. Madya Mahmood Osman Merican
Prof. Madya Ba Nyunt
Prof. Madya Kuldip Singh Dhillon
Prof. Madya Dato’ Zaleha Omar
Prof. Madya Jamal Azmi b. Mohamad
Prof. Madya Chan Kin Yuen
Prof. Madya William Loh Yeok Chuan
Dr. Tunku Nor Taayah T. Zubir
Dr. Azmil Vaikunthan Rajaratnam
Dr. Q.M. Iqbal
Dr. Avtar Singh Sachdev
Dr. Soo Fook Mun
Dr. John Leong Yew Hong
Dr. Edibam
Dr. Selvaratnam
Dr. Zulrani Dato Shaari
Dr. Teo Wee Sin
Dr. K. Raveendren
Dr. Sidheswara Sambandan
Dr. Tan Boon Hoo
Dr. S. Pasupathy

Dr. Low Eu Huat
Dr. Enger Singh
Dr. Rozman b. Md Idrus
Dr. Suntharalingam A/L Subramaniam
Dr. Low Keng Hong
Dr. Paramaswaran A/P R Suppiah
Dr. Rajiv G. Deshmukh
Dr. Syed Abd Latif Syed Long Alsagoff
Dr. Abdul Malik bin Mohd Hussin
Dr. Anuar Onah
Dr. Saw Khay Yong
Dr. Tay Yong Guan
Dr. Lim Heng Hing
Dr. Lee Joon Kiong
Dr. Robert Penafort
Dr. Siow Yew Siong
Dr. Chong Chee Seang
Dr. Omar Md Isa
Dr. Mukundala Venkata Varaprasad
Dr. Deepak Singh
Dr. Tracy Horton (Visiting Lecturer)
Dr. Simon Tan (Visiting Lecturer)(UK)
Dr. Fuat Malkoc (Visiting Lecturer)
Dr. Ng Eng Seng
Dr. Yong Chee Khuen